Thursday, July 28, 2011

Number of districts in Punjab go to 22, Fazilka, Pathankot are new districts

Chandigarh: Heeding to the years-long demands of the people in the region, Punjab government on Wednesday declared Fazilka and Pathankot as the new districts of the state. The decision takes the number of districts in the state to 22.

Apart from that, Dharmkot of Moga district and Guru Harsahay of Firozpur district have been made sub-divisions.

The decision was taken in a meeting chaired by Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal. During a press conference, Badal said, "The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-BJP government has taken into consideration the demands put forth by the locals of these areas from past 45 years."

Badal informed that in the newly formed Fazilka district, Jalalabaad, Abohar and Fazilka would be the three new sub-divisions while Arniwala Sheikh Subhan, Seeto Guno and Khuyian Sarovar have been established as tehsils.

Whereas in newly formed district of Pathankot, Dhar Kalan and Pathankot have been converted into sub divisions and Narot Jaimal Singh and Bamiyal have been introduced as two new tehsils. In total, 421 villages have been included under Pathankot district.

Also, 150 villages have been included in the newly introduced sub-division of Dharmkot, while 166 villages fall under Harsahay sub-division.

The state government has sanctioned the post for new staff in newly formed districts and divisions. In Batla and Phagwara, new post of ADC (D) has been created.

No comments: